Serving Kehwa in Hamburg!

Image

It was an eventful day. A discussion with a Tamil friend who didn’t even know the map of Kashmir (or its parts thereof) but eventually was convinced that Azaadi is in the interest of its people. A burnt right index finger as a result of a failed attempt at playing a prank on a friend. And I guess there would not have been a better way to end the day than – giving a taste of Kashmiri cuisine to my Indian friends.

‘That tea to which you add dry fruits’ – this was how my friend described the ‘tea’ to me. My first guess – Noon Chai. But, upon further enquiring about the colour of the same, I came to the conclusion that he was talking about the Kashmiri Kehwa.

Dinner was just getting over and as opposed to what people usually do on weekend nights, I had planned to sleep early. Just then the topic of discussion shifted to Kashmir – Azaadi, Saffron, Kashmir Willow, Pahalgam, Gulmarg, Azaadi. Just then Nandan asked about the Kashmiri Kehwa and wished to have his unfulfilled wish, carrying with him since his visit to Kashmir, in 2010, to be fulfilled overnight.

Checklist:  Cinnamon , Cardamom, Almonds (All the three carried overboard, all the way from Kashmir!) and Cashews!  Sadly, no Saffron – I still assure you of a great taste, and aroma!

Bismillah! The Kehwa starts brewing as does the conversation. “When did you come to Kashmir?” –   “The day that boy was killed by a tear-gas shell!”. “We have had so many such boys……….! 2008 or 2010, 2010?” – “Yes, 2010 – on the day it all started!”

I visited the stove frequently – taking in the aroma, becoming more and more enchanting with each passing minute! It really took me home. The feeling – I guess this is what we carry with us, all the way from home – we try to connect in any way howsoever far we may be from home.“This takes me home”, I declared to my friends waiting for the “Kawa?” “Kewa?” “Kewwa?” – Kehwa!

When I was a child I always waited for that moment when grandpa would wish for Kehwa at night. It was almost a daily routine and I would always ask for some Tsott to eat with it while as rest of the family preferred to have it on its own.

After all the wait, the cameras (for #InstaFood) were ready, so were the cups and the taste-buds. After a la-paparazzi photo-shoot of the Kehwa, it was time to taste Kashmir, far away from Kashmir.   My friends had a taste of Kashmir and I lived a moment of home, away from home!

One comment

  1. […] cliché, “made for each other” fits perfectly for the combination of Samavar and Noon Chai, Kehwa being the other claimant to the duet, nevertheless, for a later time to […]

Leave a comment